Selection of NASA Venus Science Coordination Group Members

The Venus Science Coordination group (VeSCoor) is a newly established joint committee of NASA and ESA to identify new, unanticipated scientific approaches and outcomes based on synergies among the missions to Venus and to suggest studies to enhance their overall scientific return.

On July 20, 2022, NASA released <u>a "Dear Colleague Letter" requesting volunteers to serve on</u> <u>VeSCoor</u>. In response, NASA received 19 outstanding nominations. Selections were based on a combination of individual expertise, subject matter knowledge, experience, current/past contributions, and overall diversity of the committee.

The following scientists were selected:

- David H. Grinspoon (Co-Chair)*, Planetary Science Institute, Tucson, AZ
- Tatiana Bocanegra-Bahamon, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Pasadena, CA
- Larry W. Esposito, Laboratory for Atmospheric & Space Physics (LASP), University of Colorado, Boulder, CO
- Patrick J. McGovern, Lunar and Planetary Institute, USRA, Houston, TX
- Joseph G. O'Rourke, Arizona State University, Tempe, AZ
- Jason Rabinovitch, Stevens Institute of Technology, Hoboken, NJ

* VeSCoor will have two Co-Chairs, one appointed by ESA and one appointed by NASA. The ESA appointments are posted at: <u>https://www.cosmos.esa.int/web/vescoor-2022</u>

NASA will be developing a publicly accessible website with VeSCoor meeting agendas and other materials.

Questions about the VeSCoor and this announcement may be directed to Ramon Depaula, at ramon.p.depaula@nasa.gov.